ellie everlasting : a review

This book was provided to me for free by the author, Isabel Scheck, in exchange for an honest review.

Ellie Everlasting is not what I expected. It’s certainly a departure from the Peter Pan created by J.M. Barrie, although the world is just as dark….

  • Scheck immediately naturalises queer relationships, and there are some very cute touches to Ellie and Olivia’s relationship. It was also refreshing to actually see the word bisexual in print! I was a little shocked at them being eighteen as they were described in a rather juvenile manner, but their aged worked for the plot of the novel.
  • I learned that I’ve been say the phrase ten to the dozen wrong my entire life, and that it’s actually nineteen to the dozen.
  • It’s a very imaginative novel, and I think that it would really come to life as a graphic novel. As I was reading it there were elements that almost begged to be drawn. Alas, I have absolutely no talent in that department. There is a lot of dialogue to the novel, so the imagery might help to guide the readers too. I know that I tend to have an overactive imagination, but not every reader does.
  • Hook’s first name being Henry. Each time his name came up I read it as Henry Hook, and then processed it as James Hook. Henry just feels wrong for a Captain. The only image the name Henry brings to mind is that of a King, Henry VIII in particular. Probably because I see his face everyday on the back of my phone.
    • Scheck pointed out that she wanted the alliteration of his name to follow as with Peter Pan which makes sense.
  • I think that with this story, there is a lot more that could be explored. For one, I’d really like to see what happened to Peter through the years between leaving Wendy and meeting Ellie. Also, how did he come to be so well educated? Has he somewhat grown up; it seems that here he’s at least eighteen. How does he feel about technology? He’s certainly can’t be accused of being helpless with regards to it.
  • Towards the end (spoiler risk ahead!) there is a Twilight-esque moment which absolutely threw me. I had to have a long conversation with my housemate about it, and also led to me very secretly watching Breaking Dawn.
Grey/Purple divider with three wave-like bumps in the middle.

In short, I’d recommend this to those who enjoy fantasy, and twists on classic tales. Whilst it wasn’t for me, as I enjoy books which provide lots of detail and focus more on the interiority of the characters, it was a fun little ride and a nice way to pass a Sunday afternoon.

You can find all of Isabel’s work here.

Purple/Grey Sign off which reads -matt

4 thoughts on “ellie everlasting : a review

  1. Hmm, this sounds like an interesting spin on Peter Pan, Matt. I don’t know that it’d be my cup of tea either but I’m glad you didn’t mind whiling away a Sunday with it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment